top of page

Cody & Natalie ~ Celebrating One Year

Wow, I feel like I've been away from shooting and blogging for FOREVER! Summer has been crazy with a newborn and our family just finished running a day camp at my parent's farm, and it has all been AWESOME! But I have to say I am so ready to get back into shooting this fall! This past Friday while the day camp way wrapping up I got to sneak away with my Brother Cody and his beautiful bride Natalie! They wanted to capture some memories to celebrate their one year wedding anniversary! Of course when they asked I said "YES PLEASE" and we headed out into the gorgeous green hills at the farm. These same hills were where they shared their first look on their wedding day and where their reception tent was set for that magical evening.

My goal during this shoot personally was to try out some new prompts to get some real and genuine reactions or emotions from Cody and Natalie. I didn't want to have too many super posed images and I wanted Cody and Natalie to feel comfortable and have some fun. I tried many different prompts such as getting them to hold hands apart from each other and then with their eyes closed try and pull each other in for a kiss! I also got them to do a little slow dance and some twirls to their wedding song and one of my personal faves was having Cody say the names of breakfast cereals in a sexy way to Natalie! I'll let you guess which reaction was the result of that silliness!

I am super happy with the results from this shoot and even though I always get a little nervous/excited before every shoot, (Yes even with family) I always feel so happy once I start shooting and I am so excited to get back to my computer and start editing the magic and uniqueness of each shoot. I feel privileged to be able to help people document moments in their lives, whether big or small and I don't take it for granted. These photos are an investment and something for my clients and their families to look back on for generations to come! Something I personally long to create with my images is to capture a moment in time where someday when future family members are looking through an old box of photos they say "wow, look how awesome Grandma and Grandpa look!".

bottom of page